The Order of National Artists (Orden ng Pambansang Alagad ng Sining) is the highest national recognition given to Filipino individuals who have made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts; namely, Music, Dance, Theater, Visual Arts, Literature, Film, Broadcast Arts, and Architecture and Allied Arts. The order is jointly administered by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) and conferred by the President of the Philippines upon recommendation by both institutions.

lamberto avellana lino brocka ishmael bernal
Lamberto V. Avellana Lino Brocka Ishmael Bernal
manuel conde gerardo de leon fernando poe jr
Manuel Conde Gerardo de Leon Ronald Alan K. Poe
eddie romero    
Eddie S. Romero    


fernando amorsolo hr ocampo bencab
Fernando Amorsolo Hernando R. Ocampo Benedicto Cabrera
botong francisco cesar legaspi abdulmari imao
Carlos “Botong” Francisco Cesar Legaspi Abdulmari Asia Imao
guillermo tolentino arturo luz federico alcuaz
Guillermo E. Tolentino Arturo Luz Federico Aguilar Alcuaz
napoleon abueva j elizalde navarro francisco coching
Napoleon V. Abueva J. Elizalde Navarro Francisco Coching
victorio edades ang kiukok jose joya
Victorio C. Edades Ang Kiukok Jose T. Joya
vicente manansala
Vicente Manansala


arcellana edith tiempo bienvenido lumbera
Francisco Arcellana Edith L. Tiempo Bienvenido Lumbera
nvm gonzalez virgilio almario cirilo bautista
N.V.M. Gonzalez Virgilio S. Almario Cirilo F. Bautista
nick joaquin amado v. hernandez lazaro francisco
Nick Joaquin Amado V. Hernandez Lazaro Francisco
f sionil jose carlos p romulo jose garcia villa
F. Sionil Jose Carlos P. Romulo  Jose Garcia Villa
alejandro roces rolando tinio levi celerio
Alejandro Roces  Rolando S. Tinio  Levi Celerio


ramon valera
Ramon Valera      


salvado bernal
Salvador F. Bernal    


francisca reyes aquino ramon obusan alice reyes
Francisca Reyes Aquino Ramon Obusan Alice Reyes
leonor orosa goquingco lucrecia urtula  
Leonor Orosa Goquingco Lucrecia Reyes-Urtula  


carlos quirino  
Carlos Quirino  


buenaventura jose maceda kasilag
Antonino Buenaventura Jose Maceda Lucrecia R. Kasilag
ernani cuenco lucio san pedro antonio molina
Ernani J. Cuenco Lucio San Pedro Antonio J. Molina
francisco feliciano levi celerio ramon santos
Francisco Feliciano Levi Celerio Ramon P. Santos
jovita fuentes felipe de leon andrea veneracion
Jovita Fuentes Felipe Padilla de Leon Andrea Veneracion
atang dela rama
 Honorata “Atang” dela Rama


daisy-hontiveros-avellana rolando tinio wilfrido-ma-guerrero
Daisy Avellana Rolando S. Tinio Wilfrido Ma. Guerrero
atang dela rama salvado bernal severino-montano
Honorata “Atang” dela Rama Salvador F. Bernal Severino Montano
lamberto avellana
 Lamberto V. Avellana

Order of National Artist Guidelines | Flow chart

The lives and works of the National Artists are discussed in greater detail in the book The National Artists of the Philippines, published jointly by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), Anvil Publishing, Inc. and the Cultural Center of the Philippines. For inquiries on the availability of the book, please contact NCCA Publications at 527-5529 or at 5272192 local 630, or email Anvil at [email protected]