The National Committee on Historical Research (NCHR), under the Subcommission on Cultural Heritage (SCH), is one of the 19 national committees under the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), the cultural arm of the government.

It is composed of representatives from the National Historical Institute, national historical associations and local historical societies, universities / academic institutions, and individuals broadly chosen from members throughout the country.

Its mandate is to encourage and assist the undertaking of research and studies on the histories of various ethnolinguistic groups, sectors, institutions, regions, and localities in the Philippines; assist in sponsoring workshops, seminars, and conferences in view of providing opportunities for sharing historical data as well as for exchanging views and opinions on historical issues; provide
technical assistance on historical research, and undertake and assist the publication of studies and research in order to disseminate them to a wider audience.

A proud nation conscious of its Filipino identity through historical research.

To foster a sense of national identity and pride aimed at conservation and promotion of our cultural heritage and our national interest through historical research and its appropriate dissemination such as publications, conferences, symposia, and the like.

Celestina P. Boncan, PhD  Head Institutional – Philippine Historical Association (PHA)
Earl Jude Cleope, PhD Vice Head Institutional – Siliman University 
Rolando Borrinaga, PhD  Secretary Individual – Visayas 
Rowena Bailon, PhD  Assistant Secretary Institutional – University of the Philippines Diliman
Rene R. Escalante, PhD ExeCon Member Ex-Officio / Institutional – National Historical
Commission of the Philippines (NHCP)
Stephen Henry S. Totanes, PhD ExeCon Member Institutional – Philippine National Historical Society (PNHS
Lars Raymund C. Ubaldo, PhD  ExeCon Member Institutional – Asosasyon ng mga Dalubhasa, May Hilig, at Interes sa Kasaysayan ng Pilipinas, Inc. (ADHIKA)
Olivia Anne M. Habana, PhD  ExeCon Member Institutional – Ateneo de Manila University
Rosaly Malate, PhD ExeCon Member Institutional – University of Santo Tomas
Melodia U. Go ExeCon Member Institutional – Mindanao State University-Marawi
Ma. Florina Orillos-Juan ExeCon Member Institutional – De La Salle University Manila
Maria Nela Florendo, PhD  ExeCon Member Individual – Luzon
Prof. Labi Riwarung  ExeCon Member Individual – Mindanao

Back to Subcommission on Cultural Heritage (SCH)

:: Ethnic History (Cordillera)
:: History of the Philippine Revolution
:: LUMAD in Mindanao
:: Parian in Cebu
:: Politico-Diplomatic History of the Philippines
:: The Philippine-American War (1899-1902)