The National Committee on Literary Arts (NCLA), under the Subcommission on the Arts (SCA), is one of the 19 national committees of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), the cultural arm of the government. It is composed of individual and institutional members from the literary arts. It is mandated to promote the appreciation of Philippine literature and to develop a sense of nationhood among Filipino writers.

Empowerment of writers and readers in all Philippine languages through the formation of a national literature and a national community of writers and readers.

Develop an enriched and broadly-based national literature out of the country’s constituent literary traditions.

Hope S. Yu, PhD Head                  Institutional – Central Visayas
Maria Luna Cleto, PhD Vice Head Institutional – NCR
Isidro M. Cruz Secretary Institutional – Western Visayas
Yvonne Esperas Asst. Secretary Institutional – Eastern Visayas
Merdekka Morales ExeCon Member Institutional – NCR
Priscilla Macansantos ExeCon Member Institutional – CAR
Julieta Mallari ExeCon Member Institutional – Central Luzon
Jimmy Domingo ExeCon Member Institutional – Northern Luzon
Francisco Peñones ExeCon Member Institutional – Southern Luzon
German Gervacio ExeCon Member Institutional – Northern Mindanao
John Bengan ExeCon Member Institutional – Southern Mindanao
Marco Alfino Miranda ExeCon Member Institutional – Western Mindanao

Back to Subcommission on the Arts

:: Bikol Literature in the Philippines
:: Cebuano Literature in the Philippines
:: Early Philippine Literature
:: Hiligaynon Literature
:: Kurditan Samtoy: The Literature of A Manly Race
:: Philippine Literary Workshops and Contests
:: Philippine Literature during the American Period
:: Philippine Literature in English
:: Philippine Literature in Spanish
:: Philippine Literature in the Post-War and Contemporary Period
:: Philippine Literature in the Spanish Colonial Period
:: Tagalog Literature: History and Tradition
:: The Literary Forms in Philippine Literature
:: The Literature of Eastern Visayas
:: The Manila Critics Circle and the National Book Awards