Assistant Chief Lawrence Charles E. Salazar, Head of the Cultural Heritage Section, joined the other Governing Board (GB) members of SEAMEO Regional Center for History and Tradition (CHAT) in Yangon, Myanmar for a meeting on September 6 to 7, 2018.

seameo chat

Ten out of the eleven GB members were in attendance to the said meeting: GB member of Brunei Darussalam, Haji Md Yusof Bin Haji Tengah, representing Hajah Sharul Badariah binti Haji Saidin; Cambodia, Prof. Vong Sotheara, representing Prof. Sambo Manara; Indonesia, Dra Triana Wulandari; Lao PDR, Assoc. Prof Dr. Dexanourath Seneduangdeth; Malaysia, Dr. Kamaleswaran Jayarajah, representing Jamil Rakon; Myanmar, Dr. Mo Mo Thant; Philippines, Lawrence Charles E. Salazar, representing NCCA Chairman Virgilio S. Almario; Singapore, Kenneth Lee Tee Chong; Thailand, Sukolrat Tharasak, representing Anandha Chuchoti; Vietnam, Assoc Prof Dr Dao Tuan Thanh; Acting Director of SEAMEO CHAT, Daw Khin Kay Soe; and the Deputy Director for Administration and Communication of SEAMEO Secretariat, Prasert Tepanart, representing the Director.

seameo chat

Mr. Kenneth Lee Tee Chong of Singapore, Chairperson of the Governing Board, welcomed and thanked the GB members for their presence. Dr. Mo Mo Thant of Myanmar was elected as vice chairperson.

Proceedings of the said GBM of SEAMEO CHAT included the approval of the Actions on the Agreement of the 16th Governing Board Meeting,  Annual Report 2017-2018, Annual Financial Report 2017-2018, the proposed three-year budget of SEAMEO CHAT for FY 2019-2020, FY 2020-2021 and FY 2021-2022, and the appointment of the auditor for 2018-2019.

The Governing Body members likewise noted with recommendations the report on the progress of the Center’s workshops and other activities.

The next GBM, as per agreement by the body, will be on the first week of September 2019 in Yangon, Myanmar.

SEAMEO was founded in 1965 where the Philippines was among seven founding members. SEAMEO CHAT was established in Myanmar in 2000. There are 11 SEAMEO member countries – 10 ASEAN countries and Timor-Leste. SEAMEO has 24 specialist centers undertaking training and research in the fields of Education, Science and Culture. The Governing Board Members of regional centers suggest, support and give opinions on activities, projects, and programs of each center through the annual meetings.