International Theatre Institute (ITI) / Committee on Social Change Network, the Earthsavers, UNESCO Artist for Peace and the Climate Change Institute with the partnership of the National Commission for Culture and Arts (NCCA) on the occasion of the 70th Anniversary of the ITI will provide recognition to the exceptional, creative work and lifetime achievement by artist and consistent patronage of the arts in our country through the LAMP OF CULTURE AWARD on the 28th of February 2019 at the NCCA Auditorium at 5 pm. An originally designed trophy by multi-awarded artist Toym Imao will be given to the following selected awardees in their areas of artistic expression:

  • Freddie Aguilar (MUSIC)
  • Shirley Halili-Cruz (DANCE)
  • Actor-Director Joel Lamangan (MULTIMEDIA)
  • Lav Diaz (CINEMA)
  • Dr. Isagani Cruz (PLAYWRIGHT)
  • Nemi Miranda (VISUAL ARTS)
  • Fred J. Elizalde and Alice Reyes (ART PATRONAGE)

This was announced by Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA) founder Cecile Guidote-Alvarez, a Ramon Magsaysay Outstanding Asian Laureate for Public Service recently bestowed with the ITI 70th Year Medal of Honor as the lone ASEAN artist, as part of 15 distinguished theatre leaders of the world recognized in Hainan, China presided by its President Mohammed Al Akham and Director General Tobias Biancone. Accordingly, the Philippine Center of the ITI has decided that as a culminating activity for Arts Month, exceptional pioneering work in the country with international impact would be similarly honored in our country.

Freddie Aguilar‘s songs have been translated and sang in different languages, Shirley Halili-Cruz’s efforts on World Dance Day Xchange events brought international participants from different countries; Joel Lamangan‘s versatility as actor-director was applauded in different medium while Lav Diaz‘s breakthrough in cinema has won international acclaim. Isagani Cruz‘s dramatic works have been performed abroad, as well as his Filipino translation of foreign plays. Nemi Miranda is known for his religious, socially relevant collection of paintings. Acknowledged for their encouragement of the performing and media arts are Fred Elizalde, MBC Chairman and President of Star Parks Corporation and Alice Reyes, founder of ALIW Awards.

Other members of the Organizing Committee besides Cecile G. Alvarez is ITI Communications Chairman Jose Laderas Santos, Nomination Committee Chair and Vice-President Frank Rivera, ITI Secretary, Sonny Valencia, Monodrama Committee Chairman, Fray Paolo Casurao with concurrence by NCCA Executive Director, Rico Pableo, Jr.

Past Outstanding Talents that have been recognized were Lea Salonga, Lisa Macuja, Monique Wilson, Boy Abunda, Dolphy, Nora Aunor, Rosalinda Orosa, Bert Florentino, Juvenal Sanso, George Yang, Danny Dolor, Don Emilio Yap for art patronage. The event is open to the public. Several schools have been invited through DepEd/CHED.