The National Commission for Culture and the Arts is proud to announce the Call for Nominations for the Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan.

Tasked with the administration and implementation of the award is the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), the highest policy-making and coordinating body for culture and the arts of the State.  The NCCA, through the GAMABA Executive Council, conducts the search for the finest traditional artists of the lands, adopts programs that ensure the transfer of their skills to others, and undertakes measures to promote a genuine appreciation of and still pride among our people about the genius of the Manlilikha ng Bayan.

Presently, there are 16 National Living Treasures awardees that reflect the diverse heritage and cultural traditions that transcend their beginning to become part of our national character.  As Filipinos, they bring age-old customs, crafts, and ways of living to the attention and appreciation of Filipino life.  They provide us with a vision of ourselves and of our nation, a vision we might not able to realize someday, once we are given the opportunity to be true to ourselves as these artists have remained truthful to their art.

Individual or group nominees shall only be nominated under one category, where the artist/s has/have made his/her/their substantial contribution. Stipulated under Section 4 of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the Manlilikha ng Bayan Act: ‘Group’ refers to a cluster of Filipino artisans performing certain tasks in the completion of a traditional art form identified with a cultural community.

Traditional folk categories under which nomination should be considered shall be under the UNESCO – Five Domains of Intangible Cultural Heritage:

  • Oral Traditions and Expressions
  • Performing Arts
  • Social Practices, Rituals, and Festive Events
  • Knowledge and Practices concerning Nature and the Universe
  • Traditional Craftmanship


Nominations shall be submitted to, on or before February 12, 2021:

Office of the Executive Director
National Commission for Culture and the Arts
633 General Luna Street, Intramuros, 1002 Manila