As governed by RA 7356, The National Commission for Culture and the Arts is governed by a Board of Commissioners composed of 15 members, namely:

  • Rene R. Escalante, NCCA Chairman (Chairman, National Historical Commission of the Philippines)
  • Maria Margarita Moran-Floirendo, Commissioner (President, Cultural Center of the Philippines)
  • Sherwin T. Gatchalian, Commissioner (Chairman, Committee on Education, Arts, and Culture, Senate of the Philippines)
  • Roman T. Romulo, Commissioner (Chairperson, Committee on Basic Education and Culture, House of Representatives)
  • Annalyn M. Sevilla, Commissioner (Undersecretary for Finance-Budget and Performance Monitoring, Department of Education)
  • Edwin R. Enrile, Commissioner (Undersecretary for Legal and Special Concerns, Department of Tourism)
  • Dr. Arthur P. Casanova, Commissioner (Chairman, Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino)
  • Jeremy R. Barns, Commissioner (Director General, National Museum of the Philippines)
  • Cesar Gilbert Q. Adriano, Commissioner (Director IV, National Library of the Philippines)
  • Victorino Mapa Manalo, Commissioner (Executive Director, National Archives of the Philippines)
  • Oscar G. Casaysay (Executive Director, National Commission for Culture and the Arts)

Private Sector Representatives

Rolando B. Tolentino, PhD, Commissioner for the Arts / Head, Subcommission on the Arts
Vicente C. Handa
, PhD, Commissioner for Cultural Dissemination / Head, Subcommission on Cultural Dissemination

Ar. Michael F. Manalo, Commissioner for Cultural Heritage / Head, Subcommission on Cultural Heritage
Abubacar M. Datumanong, PhD, Commissioner for Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts / Head, Subcommission on Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts


National Advisory Board

The NCCA Board of Commissioners is also assisted by a National Advisory Board composed of 19 National Committee Heads.

Subcommission On Cultural Dissemination (SCD)
1. National Committee on Cultural Education Vicente C. Handa, PhD, Commissioner / Head
2. National Committee on Language and Translation Michael M. Coroza, PhD, Secretary
3. National Committee on Communication Ricardo C. Juliano, Vice Head
Subcommission On The Arts (SCA)
1. National Committee on Architecture and Allied Arts LAr. Zenaida DC Galingan,  Member
2. National Committee on Cinema Rolando B. Tolentino, PhD, CommissionerHead
3. National Committee on Dance Shirley Halili-Cruz, Vice Head
4. National Committee on Dramatic Arts Felimon B. Blanco, Assistant Secretary
5. National Committee on Literary Arts Julieta C. Mallari, PhD, Member
6. National Committee on Music Felipe de Leon, Jr.,  Member
7. National Committee on Visual Arts Geraldine B. Araneta, Secretary
Subcommision On Cultural Heritage (SCH)
1. National Committee on Archives Arnulfo O. Junio, Secretary
2. National Committee on Art Galleries Danilo Rayos Del Sol, Assistant Secretary
3. National Committee on Historical Research Emmanuel Franco Calairo, PhD, Vice Head
4. National Committee on Libraries and Information Services Salvacion M. Arlante, Member
5. National Committee on Monuments and Sites Ar. Michael F. Manalo, Commissioner / Head
6. National Committee on Museums Jose Eleazar Bersales, Member
Subcommission On Cultural Communities And Traditional Arts (SCCTA)
1. National Committee on Northern Cultural Communities Edwin V. Antonio, PhD, Member
2. National Committee on Central Cultural Communities Pablito C. Gonzales, Member
3. National Committee on Southern Cultural Communities Dr. Abubacar M. Datumanong, Commissioner / Head

Minutes Archives