The MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT) and the Mindanao Creative Writers Group (MCWG) are accepting manuscripts to the 24th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held on May 29-June 2, 2017 in the MSU-IIT, Iligan City.

There are 18 slots available for writers who have attended regional writers workshops or creative writing classes and whose works are unpublished. Six (6) INWW alumni (INWW 1-5: 1998-2000) from across the regions are welcome to send their works in progress along with a brief paper on their creative process.

Applicants may submit five (5) poems; one, one-act play; one short fiction, creative non-fiction, and an excerpt of a novel in progress in any of these languages: Filipino, English, Sebuano, Waray, Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Akyanon, Chabacano, Maranao, Bukidnon, Higaunon, and Tausug.

Except for works in Filipino and in English, please provide translations of your works in either Filipino or in English. Those submitting excerpts of novels should provide a one-page summary of the novel. The general theme for works to be submitted this year is on the folk traditions and/or our cultural heritage as part of nation building but is not confined only to these themes.

Playwrights whose works are accepted in the INWW will sign a contract allowing the MSU-IIT Resident Theater Company IPAG to have the first option to perform his/her work within three years upon acceptance of his/her work to the INWW but, he/she retains copyright and has the right to have his/her work performed elsewhere within the same period.

Application forms can be downloaded at or call Hernenigildo M. Dico (+639177214697) or Loi P. Magusara (+639164826215) or call the Office of Publication and Information (063) 222-8769.

Deadline for entries is on March 15, 2017.

The panelists this year are: Shirley Lua, Victorio N. Sugbo, Dr. Isidoro Cruz, Roland Tolentino and the resident panelists Steven P.C Fernandez, German V. Gervacio and Christine Godinez Ortega, workshop Director.

The Keynote speaker this year is the National Artist for Literature and Chair of the National Commission for Culture and Arts (NCCA) Virgilio ‘Rio Alma’ Almario. The INWW is funded by the MSU-IIT and the NCCA.