The National Commission for Culture and the Arts is pleased to announce the Call for Applications for the Philippine Heritage Awards 2022.

The Philippine Heritage Awards (PHA) is a conservation recognition program given by the President of the Republic of the Philippines upon the recommendation of the Commission, wherein monetary prizes, awards, and citations are awarded, for special achievements and contributions and services in the area of heritage preservation and conservation efforts.  This is pursuant to Section 37 of Republic Act No. 10066 or the National Cultural Heritage Act of 2009.

The Philippine Heritage Awards shall be given to groups and/or individuals whose projects have met the following criteria:

  1. The project must have been completed within the last TWO (2) YEARS prior to the closing date of the applications with exceptions of projects such as school curriculums and tours which are continuously implemented under the Heritage Education and Interpretation category. 
  2. The project must be within Philippine territory.

Projects will be assessed against a broad spectrum of criteria including the heritage outcome, conservation practices, social and community benefits, sustainability, challenges faced and partnerships demonstrated.

Applications may be submitted in any of the following categories:

Adaptive Reuse This category is for projects that utilized buildings, other built structures and sites of value for purposes other than that for which they were intended originally, in order to conserve the site, their engineering integrity, and authenticity of design.
Conservation – Built Heritage This category is for projects that relate to conservation of our built heritage including bridges, government buildings, houses of ancestry, traditional dwellings, quartels, train stations, lighthouses, small ports, educational, technological, and industrial complexes, and their settings, and landscapes with notable historical and cultural significance.
Conservation – Movable Cultural Properties This category is for the restoration and conservation of movable cultural properties.
Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage This category is for projects that safeguard oral traditions, usages, customs, languages and other expressions; performing arts; social practices, religious rites, rituals, culinary traditions, and festive events; knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe, worship; and traditional craftsmanship.
Heritage Education and Interpretation This category is for publications, performances, cultural practices and traditions, events, exhibitions, displays, site interpretations, tours, seminars/workshops/trainings, and multimedia including smartphone apps, websites, and social media which emphasize and promote education, interpretation, and community engagement towards the protection and conservation of tangible and intangible cultural properties.
Heritage Programs Support This category is to recognize the extraordinary commitment and active involvement of an organization, local government unit, or corporation in supporting heritage programs.


Download the Philippine Heritage Awards Guidelines for other details.

Accomplish also the Application Forms listed below for the category of the project applied for.


For any questions/more information about the PHA: 2022, please contact us:

National Commission for Culture and the Arts
Tel No. (02) 8527-2192 loc 324
Mobile No. +639283984140
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM
Monday to Thursday