The National Commission for Culture and the Arts is pleased to announce the call for applications for the Philippine Heritage Awards. The deadline for submission is on February 8, 2018.

The Philippine Heritage Awards is an annual conservation recognition program under which monetary prizes, awards, and citations will be given by the President of the Philippines, upon the recommendation of the NCCA, for special achievements and important contributions and services in the area of heritage preservation and conservation efforts. This is pursuant to Section 37 of Republic Act No. 10066 or the National Cultural Heritage Act of 2009.

The Philippine Heritage Awards shall be given to groups and/or individuals whose projects have met the following criteria:

  1. The project must have been completed within the last two years prior to the closing date of the applications.
  2. The project must be within the Philippine territory.

Projects will be assessed against a broad spectrum of criteria including the heritage outcome, conservation practices, social and community benefits, sustainability, challenges faced and partnerships demonstrated.

Applications may be submitted in any of the following categories:

a. Adaptive Reuse

This category is for projects that utilized buildings, other built-structures and sites of value for purposes other than that for which they were intended originally, in order to conserve the site, their engineering integrity, and authenticity of design.

b. Conservation – Built Heritage

This category is for projects that relate to conservation of our built heritage including bridges, government buildings, houses of ancestry, traditional dwellings, quartels, train stations, lighthouses, small ports, educational, technological and industrial complexes, and their settings, and landscapes with notable historical and cultural significance.

c. Conservation – Movable Cultural Properties

This category is for the restoration and conservation of movable cultural properties.

d. Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage

This category is for projects that safeguard oral traditions, usages, customs, languages and other expressions; performing arts; social practices, religious rites, rituals, culinary traditions and festive events; knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe, worship; and traditional craftsmanship.

e. Heritage Education and Interpretation

This category is for publications, performances, cultural practices and traditions, events, exhibitions, displays, site interpretations, tours, seminars/workshops/trainings, and multimedia including smartphone apps, websites and social media which emphasize and promote education, interpretation, and community engagement towards the protection and conservation of tangible and intangible cultural properties.

f. Heritage Programs Support

This category is to recognize the extraordinary commitment and active involvement of an organization, local government unit, or corporation in supporting heritage programs.

Download the Press Release, Philippine Heritage Awards Guidelines for other details and the Application Forms listed below to be accomplished.


Cultural Heritage Section
National Commission for Culture and the Arts
NCCA Building, 633 General Luna Street, Intramuros 1002