The NCCA-National Committee on Historical Research Executive Council is seeking nominations for the 2017 Young Historian’s Prize. The award is in recognition of the potential of young scholars on the basis of a single work in the field of history. Winners will receive a certificate of recognition and a cash prize of Php 50,000.00.

How to Qualify

  1. The nominee must be Filipino citizen between 21-40 years old at the time of submission
  2. Must be single authorship
  3. Submit an original work
  4. The entry must be written in the proper academic style
  5. The entry can either be published or publishable work
  6. Must have used primary sources that can contribute to the enrichment of the Philippine history and historiography

What to Submit

  1. A duly accomplished nomination form;
  2. Authors curriculum vitae;
  3. NSO certified birth certificate;
  4. Sworn statement of authorship;
  5. Manuscript in a PDF file soft copy and three sets of hard copies;
  6. Two (2) endorsement letters from an academic institution, local historical society or practicing historian

Criteria for Evaluation

  1. 15% Topic – contribution to historical knowledge and research
  2. 30% Interpretation–well-written historical narrative and interpretation based on the use of various sources
  3. 30% Data/Sources –utilization of various sources (primary, secondary, archival, oral, etc.)
  4. 15% Coherence –effective presentation and reinforcement of research objectives vis-à-vis topic
  5. 10% Writing Style–scholarly work with proper citation of sources, and includes proper grammar and mastery of the language used.

Nominations may be submitted through ordinary mail to:

The Young Historian’s Prize Secretariat

Cultural Heritage Section
Room 3B, 3rd Floor,
National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA)
633 General Luna St., Intramuros, Manila
Tel: (63-2) 527-2192 local 308

Copies of the Nomination Form and Young Historian’s Prize Guidelines may be obtained at the Cultural Heritage Section or may be downloaded through this link.

Deadline of submission is on MAY 31, 2018.

Nominations received beyond the prescribed date shall not be considered.



Kalusugang Pampubliko sa Kolonyal na Maynila, 1898-1918: Heograpiya, Medisina, Kasaysayan
Author:  Ronaldo Mactal

Affiliation:  De La Salle University

Isang Pangkasaysayang Pagsisiyasat sa Pagkabuo ng Camangaan. Moncada, Tarlac 1860-1935
Author:  Jely A. Galang

Affiliation: University of the Philippines Diliman

Puod Romblon: Kasaysayang pampulitika ng lalawigang Kapuluan 1896-2006”
Author:  Kristoffer R. Esquejo

Affiliaton:  University of the Philippines Diliman


Kasaysayan at Vulnerabilidad: Ang Kabihasnan at Lipunang Pilipino sa Harap ng Pananalasa ng Balang 1569-1949
Author: Ma. Florina Orillos-Juan

Affiliation: De La Salle University Manila

Si Dr. Dioscoro L. Umali (1917-1992) at ang Kanyang Ambag sa Sektor ng Agrikultura sa Pilipinas.
Author: Janet S. Reguindin
Affiliation: Miriam College


Ospital ng Bayan: Isang Kasaysayan ng Philippine General Hospital
Author: Jerome Ong

Affiliation:  University of the Philippines Manila

Of Transportation and Transformation:  The Impact of Urban Transportation on Early Twentieth Century- Manila
Author: Michael Pante

Affiliation: Ateneo de Manila University


The Pulahan Movement in Leyte, 1902-1907
Author: George Emmanuel R. Borrinaga

Affiliation: University of San Carlos Cebu

Sakdal: Kasaysayang Pangkalinangan ng Isang Kilusang Panlipunan, 1930-1938
Author:  Marlon Delupio

Affiliation: De La Salle University-Manila

History of the Filipino History Book
Author: Vernon Totanes

Affiliation: Ateneo de Manila University


Observatorio de Manila:  Institusyong Pang-agham at ang Ambag nito sa Pagsusulong ng Meteorolohiya sa Pilipinas, 1866-1933
Author: Kerby C. Alvarez

Affiliation:  University of the Philippines Diliman


Epizootics, Veterinary Science and the Filipinos, 1899-1939
Author:  Arleigh Ross D. Dela Cruz

Affiliation:  De La Salle University-Manila