A former vice president of the Republic, five former senators, a successful multi-media practitioner: radio, television, film, print and production and a member of the legendary Tito, Vic and Joey are among the awardees at Senate Pecson Hall on February 6, 2019, at 9:30 a. m. in connection with the UN World Radio Day 2019 celebration.

world radio day 2019

The former vice president is ABS-CBN Noli Boy de Castro, the former senators are Heherson Alvarez, de Castro, Eddie Ilarde, Joey Lina and Orly Mercado. The multi-media practitioner is Rey Langit; Joey de Leon is the Joey of the famous Tito Vic and Joey. 

This is the first time in the century-old radio industry in the Philippines that 12 broadcasters will be feted the title Legends of Philippine Radio while citations for the dynamic use of radio will be awarded.

The 12 broadcasters named Legends of Philippine Radio in alphabetical order are 12 Noli Boy de Castro (former vice president and senator), Renato “Atong Balatong” Dilig, Mike Enriquez, Don Manolo Favis, Luz Fernandez, Ruben Ilagan, Eddie Ilarde (Former senator), Rey Langit, Joey de Leon, Christina de Leon aka Tina Loy, Orly Mercado (former senator) and Salvador Royales.      

Special citations will be awarded to former senator, DILG Secretary, Laguna Governor and now Manila Hotel President Joey Lina for hosting Sagot Kita and Magpayo Kayo over DZMM in advancing his local governance platform while former senator, Isabela Congressman, DENR and DAR Secretary and Ambassador Plenipotentiary to US Heherson Alvarez for his consistent use of radio in his global advocacy to fight poverty and Climate Change. + Amah Ling Hui Kho will receive award for conceptualizing the conferment of Living Legend to broadcasters with monumental achievements while Kapisanan ng mga Broadcaster sa Pilipinas (KBP) will be honored for the gargantuan initiative in uniting workers in the radio industry for the growth and development of the nation.         

This is the 8th edition of the Unesco World Radio Day (WRD) declared by UN in 2012. The UN marks a time where people around the world celebrate radio and how radio shapes the lives of nations. Radio informs, transforms and unites people. It brings together communities from all backgrounds to foster positive dialogue for change. Radio in history is considered the strongest medium of communication to counter the appeals for the spread of violence and conflict, especially in regions potentially more exposed to such realities.

World Radio Day 2019 will celebrate the theme of “Dialogue, Tolerance and Peace”.

In December 2018, the Liga ng mga Brodkaster sa Pilipinas and the National Press Club of the Philippines headed by Mr. Rolando “Lakay” Gonzalo; the Unesco International Theater Institute Philippine Center headed by Mr. Joe Lad Santos; the Unesco Earthsavers Artists for Peace and DZRH Radio Balintataw hosted by Ms. Cecile Guidote Alvarez and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) of the government side with Executive Director Rico Pableo convened for the first time to hold a long ever due duty of conferring the title Living Legends in Philippine Radio for those with monumental achievements in the broadcast industry. The conveners also decided in citing personalities and institutions for dynamism in the use of radio.

“This is just the beginning of the task we should have done before,’ LBP and NPC Lakay Gonzalo averred referring to the many legends of the past who have been long gone without receiving their due recognition of being legends. “I am laso thankful to Mme. Ling Hui Kho who prodded the industry in doing this incumbent duty of the living,” he added.

On his part, E. D. Pableo said that “Radio is the inseparable brother of Philippine Arts and Culture. Even at the rampaging advent of modern technology especially social media, radio will be permanently with us and will remain the most reliable medium for reliable news and issues. Radio will stay as mankind stays.” 

Senator Cynthia Villar is the author of Radio Day resolution in the Senate while party-list representative Gary Alejano authored it in the lower house simultaneously in 2015.

Invited to give an inspirational talk during the award ceremony is Senate President Vicente Sotto III, the Tito in the famous Tito Vic and Joey while the Senate host at Pecson Hall and Keynote Speaker is Senator Villar. An inspirational message from the palace will be delivered by PCOO Secretary Martin Andanar. Other invited guests are Mayor Remedios “Matin” Petilla of Palo, Leyte, wherein radio made history on October 20, 1944 for the famous I Have Returned by Gen. Douglas MacArthur. Resistance forces use the radio in announcing the march of Liberation to end the occupation of the Japanese Imperial Army. Radio on that time was the historic broadcaster of the gallantry, heroism, and unity of the nation in fighting the enemy of the land.

Meanwhile, former VP and former senator de Castro earlier said that he became Noli Boy De Castro because of radio. ‘I am very thankful and always thankful to the broadcast industry,’ said the former VP.

Orly Mercado became legend simply because of hosting radio programs that stay in the top rating boards for many years including the Kapwa Ko Mahal Ko signature program for public service.

Legendary commentator Ruben Ilagan commented on the conveners by saying that it will happen while he is still alive and kicking. He is already 81. Any move for inspiring people is never late. “Though many airwave legends were long been gone.’

Rey Langit said that he is grateful to the organizers especially to Mrs. Cecile Guidote Alvarez who motivated members of the media organizations in bestowing this kind of recognition that will inspire the broadcast industry. “LBP President Lakay Gonzalo is very right in saying that this project should have been done many years back. We inherited this power of radio because of the labor and sacrifices of our respected pioneers,” Mr. Langit said.

Christina Tolentino known as the legendary Tina Loy at 82 can still do the magic of her voice that made radio drama a household entertainment.

Former Senator Eddie Ilarde’s “Kahapon Lamang” translated into films several times is the venue of mount-full daily letters created an indelible impact in the memory of many people because of radio. Eddie Ilarde became a household name in his prime and he was number one when he ran for the Senate. He is the Kuya Eddie in the bestselling song “Napakasakit Kuya Eddie.”

Don Manolo Favis of DZMM is the midnight voice that made many insomniacs hold hours of entertainment until dreamlands.

Atong Balatong is Renato Dilig of wonderful vocabulary in Filipino language with a treasurable array of sentimental Tagalog songs.

The voice of Luz Fernandez in DZRH radio drama will make people cry when she is the leading lady, and someone will revolt when she is the kontravida.

For more details, please contact Mr. Rene Napeñas, head of the Public Affairs and Information Office, through 0928-5081057, 527-2192 loc 208 or through email address ncca.paio@gmail.com. Log on to www.ncca.gov.ph.