The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), led by its chairman Arsenio J. Lizaso, executive director Al Ryan S. Alejandre, deputy executive director Marichu G. Tellano, and supervising officer for administration Bernan Joseph R. Corpuz, and the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP), headed by its chairman Dr. Rene R. Escalante, through the National Quincentennial Committee (NQC) will conduct the quincentennial evening show to commemorate the 500th anniversary of the Victory at Mactan, which will also serve as the maiden show of Met after 25 years since its closure in 1996.

The 500th anniversary show of Victory at Mactan on April 27, 2021 at the Metropolitan Theater will commemorate remarkable productions presented on the stage of Met. This initial presentation is timely as it will be to commemorate a milestone event in the country for the quincentennial of the victory at Mactan, Victory and Humanity-1521 to 2021.   Moreover, this is being offered to commemorate the various remarkable productions presented at the Met such as world-renowned classic works, zarzuelas, musicals, plays will also be honored, namely Ibong Adarna, Florante At Laura, Kanser, El Filibusterismo, Save The Met Project, Ang Kiri (1979), Ang Palabas Bukas (1979), Ms. Philippines (1980), Batibot (1979), Kapinangan (1981), Gomburza (1982), Ewagan (1984), EDSA (1986), Great White Way I (1983) and II (1987), Hindi Kita Malimot (1981), Dahil Sa Iyo (1982), Tatlong Pag-ibig (1980), Nag-iisa sa Karimlan (1980), Josephine Bracken (1980), Sa Mata ng Daluyong (1981), Maalaala Mo Kaya, Aswang Sa Lungsod, Juan Tamad Meets Paltos V, Ginintuang Alaala, Flower Drum Song, Bodabil Atbp, Electic Movements, Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Mikado (1983), Giacomo Puccini’s Turandot (1979), Mefistofele (1980), Alexander Borodin’s Kismet (1980), Noel Coward’s Private Lives (1980, Filipino translation), Nora (1981) adapted from Henrik Ibsen’s Doll’s House (1981), Lerner and Loewe’s My Fair Lady (1982), and Rodgers and Hammerstein’s The Sound of Music (1982).

Meanwhile on Met’s formal launching show which will be streamed online in December, aligned on its inauguration on December 10, 1931, renowned artists Charo Santos, Rita Gomez, Sylvia La Torre, Mitch Valdez, Nanette Inventor, Eva Eugenio, Marilen Martinez, Jacqui Magno, Louie Reyes, Pops Fernandez, Ric Segreto, Maricris Bermont, Kuh Ledesma, Haji Alejandro, Pinky de Leon, Tillie Moreno, Dulce, Janet Basco, Lirio Vital, Tommy Abuel, Laurice Guillen, Marco Sison, Leo Valdez, Robert Arevalo, Johnny Delgado, Subas Herrero, Bert Nievera, Rez Cortez, Ray-an Fuentes, Eugene Villauz, Lou Veloso, Celso Ad Castillo, among others, who have come a long way since their stage performance at the MET will be featured on the show.

The Manila Symphony Orchestra, one of the oldest orchestras in Asia and the longest surviving artistic institution in the Philippines, which also became a notable part of Met will also be highlighted on the show during the ceremonial reopening in December.

“After the long arduous journey to rehabilitate and restore the Metropolitan Theater (Met), we are finally reopening it this 2021. We hope to invite these celebrated artists who once performed here and showcase the talents who graced the Met to younger generation…” NCCA chairman Lizaso wishes the present generation to witness the enormous talents once showcased at the Met.

The Metropolitan Theater, a Philippine Art Deco building, was declared as National Historical Landmark and a National Cultural Treasure by NHCP and National Museum of the Philippines.