The Batak (Batac, Tinitianes) are one of the subgroups of the Philippine Negrito who are genetically associated with the Negrito of west central Luzon, i.e., the Pinatubo Ayta. Like the classic Negrito, the Batak are food gatherers, hunters, and quasi-swidden cultivators. They are distributed in the northeastern mountains of Palawan from the Babuyan river in the south, to Malcampo in the north. They speak both Tagbanwa and Pala’wan. Originally dispersed, they have been in recent times (1880) congregated in the area about Tanabag, their first nucleated settlement. This was made possible with the introduction of dry rice cultivation and civil government structure in the area. The estimated population is 1,780 (NSO 1990).

       The Batak were formerly proficient in the use of the bow and arrow as well as the blowgun. They now practice minimal shifting cultivation of dry rice with occasional gardens planted to cassava, tubers, and vegetables. There is food gathering to supplement their needs.

       The social organization is based on bilateral kinship, the discrete band, and rather loosely, the community. The civil structure at present follows the barangay with a kapitan over an aggregate of bands. Loosely, too, like the Tagbanwa, there is the masikampo who heads the surigiden or council of elders.

       The belief system parallels that of the surrounding Tagbanwa. It includes belief in five souls: one in the head, and four each in the arms and legs. Whatever happen to the souls determine the health, or life and death of the individual.


Distribution of Ethnic Groups by Provinces
(Arrangement: Population count)
Antique 10
Basilan 10
Bataan 31
Bohol 90
Bukidnon 143
Camarines 11
Camiguin 10
Capiz 9
Cavite 52
Cebu 244
Davao 22
Davao del S. 73
Ilocos N. 9
Ilocso S. 4
Iloilo 20
Kalinga-Apayao 7
Lanao del N. 11
Maguindanao 9
Misamis Occ. 57
Misamis Or. 110
Negros Occ. 21
N. Cotabato 32
N. Samar 10
Nueva Ecija 20
Palawan 259
Pampanga 9
Pangasinan 10
Quezon 16
Rizal 10
S. Leyte 19
Surigao N. 22
Tawi-Tawi 10
Zambales 10
Zamboanga N. 32
Zamboanga S. 220
Kalookan 21
Las Pinas 21
Mandaluyong 10
Manila 31
Makati 21
Mantinlupa 11
Quezon City 21
Taguig 12