Back to article list

February 18, 2011


Now on its fourth year, The National Commission for Culture and the Arts, continues with its tradition of recognizing Filipino excellence in the arts, by awarding 32 individuals/groups with its annual Ani ng Dangal awards on February 7, 2011 at the NCCA lobby, in Intramuros, Manila.

The award honors the exceptional accomplishments of Filipino artists who have made significant contributions to Philippine culture and arts the previous year. The artists include dancers and singers, literary writers, film directors and performers, architects, visual artists and designers, including multi-disciplinary artists. Each awardee receives a Sarimanok-inspired trophy designed by National Artist for Sculpture Dr. Abdulmari Asia Imao.

This year’s awardee include poet Marjorie Evasco who received the prestigious SEAWRITE Award in November 2010 for her collection of poems, one of which is titled “Dancing the Spell. Evasco received her SEAWRIE award from Prince Maha Vajiralongkorn in the presence of Royal Princess Srirasm, and members of the organizing committee at the Royal Ballroom of Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok, Thailand.

Among the awardess too, was veteran actress Rustica Carpio who was named “Best Actress” during the 11th Las Palmas de Gran Canaria International Film Festival (Spain) for the Brillante Mendoza film “Lola.” Mendoza himself was an awardee, having been recognized for the said film in at least 7 film festivals abroad (Sitges International Film Festival, 11th Las Palmas de Gran Canaria International Film Festival, Rome Asian Film Festival, among others).

The University of Sto. Tomas singers, on the other hand, won the coveted title “Choir of the World” in the 63rd Llangollen International Musical Eisteddfod (2010). The group won the same award in 1995, making it the first and only Filipino and Asian choir to win the celebrated award twice.

Visual artist Orley Ypon, joins the awardees for bagging the grand prize winner in the International Artist Magazine’s International Painting Competition (People and Figures Division) in 2009. His winning piece titled “The Seekers” was featured in the magazine’s December 2009/January 2010 issue. “The Seekers” on oil, composed on a 72 by 48″ (182 x 121 cm) canvas, won for Cebu-native Ypon US$2000 worth of cash prize, including an official award certificate as Grand Prize Winner in the International Artist Mag’s Art Challenge No. 54.

For Multi-Disciplinary Arts, the NCCA recognized the for its advertising campaign, “Anong Balita.” “Anong Balita,” a collaboration between Esther Misa Chavez,’s US director for sales, and Peggy Peralta of Head of the Dog Pictures, received the “Award of Excellence,” the highest award in the Newspaper/Publication Category during the 16th Annual Communicator Awards show in New York.

The works (*with “The Seekers” already with the International Artist Magazine, Ypon has chosen to exhibit a similar work titled “The Resurrection”) and trophies won by the 32 awardees will be on display in an exhibit at the NCCA Gallery in Intramuros, Manila to give the public a chance to view these prestigious international awards. expressions of the Filipinos’ creative imagination and the recognition afforded to them by various award-giving bodies.

Here is the complete list of the 2011 “Ani ng Dangal” awardees whose works and trophies will be on display (until February 28):

Visual Arts:
Carlos Esguerra “Chrysler Building 8369”
Marvin Langote “My World My Dream”
Jerome Allen Lorico “A dress inspired by Ink and Water”
Vance Galvin Tiu Tangcueco “Here is My Life”
Orley Ypon “The Seekers”

Nash Anggahan “isKWATER” and “Water”
Rustica Carpio “Lola”
Odyssey Flores “Lola”
Ralston Jover “Bakal Boys”
Monster Jimenez “Kano: An American and His Harem”
Anita Linda “Lola”
Jose Mateo “Prep and Landing”
Mark Meilly “Donor”
Brillante Mendoza “Lola”
Francis Xavier Pasion “Jay”
John Paul Seniel “Latus”
Meryll Soriano “Donor”
Lou Veloso “Colorum”
Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos “Walang Hanggang Paalam”

Halili-Cruz Dance Company

Marjorie Evasco Dancing a Spell in “Skin of Water”

Marielle Corpuz “What Kind of a Fool Am I”
Margaret Ortega “Terrified”
Lordenn Panganiban “Within” and “Love Like Way Back then”
Philippine Normal University Chorale
Vehnee Saturno “Within”
University of Saint La Salle Chorale
University of Santo Tomas Singers

Multi-Disciplinary Arts: “Anong Balita”
Niña Corpuz “Filipino Domestic Workets: The Struggle for Justice and Survival”
i-Witness “Ambulansiyang de Paa”

The awardees will personally receive from President Benigno Aquino III the trophies by the end of February in Malacañang.