The National Committee on Northern Cultural Communities, under the Subcommission on Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts (SCCTA), is one of the 19 national committees of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), the cultural arm of the government. It is composed of cultural leaders and workers (including cultural administrators, researchers, culture bearers, artists, and practitioners), representatives of non-government organizations, people’s organizations, including local government units or individuals knowledgeable in the culture of the northern cultural communities and who work for the protection, promotion and development of the northern cultural communities and their traditional arts.

The Executive Council shall consist of 15 members from legitimate community-based IP organizations representing the major cultural communities from Regions I, II, III, and CAR as follows:

Region I
1. Ilocano
2. Bolinao / Pangasinense

Region II
3. Gaddang / Isinay
4. Bugkalot
5. Ibanag / Yogad / Itawit / Malaweg / Ilongot
6. Agta (Dumagat) / Kasiguranin
7. Ivatan/ Itbayat

Region III
8. Ayta of Tarlac, Pampanga, Bataan, and Zambales
9. Kapampangan / Tagalog / Sambal

10. Tinggian / Itneg
11. Kalinga
12. Ikalahan / Kalanguya / Ifugao
13. Ibaloy / Kankanaey
14. Balangao / Bontok
15. Apayao / Isnag

A vibrant nation of dynamic cultural communities rooted in a rich traditional heritage united and empowered with the ideals of peace, justice, and self-determination towards sustainable development.

1. To preserve and protect traditional cultures and their various creative expressions as an integral part in nation-building;
2. To revitalize and promote the culture and the arts of the cultural communities through active community participation in partnership with the concerned government agencies; and
3. To enhance appreciation and develop an understanding of Filipino cultural communities.

Edwin Antonio, PhD Head Iloko / Bago Cluster 
Phylis Anudon Vice-Head Ifugao / Kalanguya Cluster
Joel Mallari Secretary Kapampangan Cluster
Heather Janet Dizon
Assistant Secretary Ibaloy / Kankanaey Cluster
Willy Sinoli Execon Member Gaddang / Isinay Cluster 
Carina Amsiwen Execon Member Balangao / Bontoc / Applai Cluster
Elnora Dudang Execon Member Bolinao / Pangasinense Cluster
Teresita Bulsao Execon Member Isnag Cluster

Back to Subcommission on Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts 

:: Benguet Belief Systems
:: Cagayan Valley: The Ibanag
:: Ifugao in a Nutshell
:: Ilocano Lowland Cultural Community
:: Manuscript on Kalanguya Cultural Communities
:: Oral Literature of the Tuwali Ifugao in Kiangan
:: Sites and Sights in Ifugao
:: The Batanes Islands
:: The Ifugao Rice Terraces
:: The Kalinga
:: The Kapampangan
:: The Lowland Cultural Community of Pangasinan
:: The Remontados of the Sierra Madre Mountains