The National Committee on Literary Arts (NCLA), under the Subcommission on the Arts (SCA), is one of the 19 national committees of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), the cultural arm of the government. It is composed of individual and institutional members from the literary arts. It is mandated to promote the appreciation of Philippine literature and to develop a sense of nationhood among Filipino writers.

Empowerment of writers and readers in all Philippine languages through the formation of a national literature and a national community of writers and readers.

Develop an enriched and broadly-based national literature out of the country’s constituent literary traditions.

Dr. Julieta C. Mallari Head                  Defenders of the Indigenous Languages of the Archipelago (Central Luzon)
Mr. John B. Bengan Vice Head Davao Writers’ Guild (Eastern and Southern Mindanao)
Dr. Joyce L. Arriola Secretary University of Santo Tomas Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies (NCR)
Ms. Yvonne M. Esperas Asst. Secretary Katig Writers Network (Eastern Visayas)
Mr. Niles Jordan B. Breis ExeCon Member Kabulig Bikol (Southern Luzon)
Dr. Maria Luna Sicat-Cleto ExeCon Member Likhaan: Institute of Creative Writing (NCR)
Dr. May Anne T. Jaro ExeCon Member University of San Agustin Fray Luis de Leon Creative Writing Institute (Western Visayas)
Dr. Priscilla S. Macansantos ExeCon Member UP Baguio (Cordillera)
Mr. Merdeka C. Morales ExeCon Member Samahan ng mga Dalubguro sa Filipino – Polytechnic University of the Philippines (NCR)
Ms. Haidee Emmie K. Palapar ExeCon Member Women in Literary Arts Cebu (Central Visayas)
Mr. Neyo E. Valdez ExeCon Member GUMIL Filipinas (Northern Luzon)
ExeCon Member

Back to Subcommission on the Arts

:: Bikol Literature in the Philippines
:: Cebuano Literature in the Philippines
:: Early Philippine Literature
:: Hiligaynon Literature
:: Kurditan Samtoy: The Literature of A Manly Race
:: Philippine Literary Workshops and Contests
:: Philippine Literature during the American Period
:: Philippine Literature in English
:: Philippine Literature in Spanish
:: Philippine Literature in the Post-War and Contemporary Period
:: Philippine Literature in the Spanish Colonial Period
:: Tagalog Literature: History and Tradition
:: The Literary Forms in Philippine Literature
:: The Literature of Eastern Visayas
:: The Manila Critics Circle and the National Book Awards